The Lord is My Shepherd

The psalmist David said right out in the first verse of his God-inspired twenty-third Psalm, “The Lord is my Shepherd. I shall not want.” What a beautiful wonderful Psalm this is! It is a hymn of confidence knowing that we have the Lord as our Shepherd, and when the Lord is our Shepherd, we shall not want.

The Hebrew word used for “Lord” in this verse is “Yahweh.” Yahweh is God almighty, the Creator of the universe, the Lord God Almighty – Yahweh. That’s who the Shepherd is! Not some little wimpy guy that watches over sheep or anything like that. No, the Lord the Creator of the universe. He is your Shepherd.

He is my Shepherd. Yes that “my” is personal it belongs to me. And because the Lord God, Yahweh, is my Shepherd, the psalmist says, I have everything I need. The Lord is my Shepherd; what more could I want? I have Him. He has my back. He’s my protector. He is my defender. He is there for me.

In Revelations, the last book of the Bible, it talks about how the Lamb became the Shepherd. I love that whole juxtaposition with Psalm 23:1 – the Shepherd is the Lamb – the Lamb is the Shepherd. The Shepherd lays down His life for the sheep.

The God of the universe has laid down His life for you through His son Jesus Christ. As a result, we have victory over everything, even victory over death. Everything we need we have because the Lord is our shepherd. What more could we want?

Leave a Reply

