Prayer – Our Most Powerful Weapon

Communication is a critical component in the way of life. We usually get the best communicators to negotiate business deals. The most important foundation of a good marital relationship is communication. I am sure those that we communicate with the most, usually become our best friends or there is a strong level of attachment. Communication is also the transduction of emotions and or thoughts from one to another. The purpose is to intentionally create harmony or dissonance with the sender and receiver. I have noted, that people will make every effort to communicate with those that we love, whether through WhatsApp, BBM, SMS, FaceBook, emails, and the ever reliable please call me which is available in Jamaica.

Prayer is communication with God. It’s critical that we make this communication a daily part of our lives. Without prayer, we are ineffective and we will never be able to overcome temptation and challenges. Prayer is the sharpening of the axe, which we use to chop down the plans and attacks of the enemy over our lives. Prayer is yielding our lives to God, and letting God knows that without Him we can do nothing. Prayer is saying to God:

I am praying, blessèd Savior,
To be more and more like Thee;
I am praying that Thy Spirit Like a dove may rest on me.

Thou Who knowest all my weakness,
Thou Who knowest all my care, While I plead each precious promise, Hear, oh, hear and answer prayer.

Prayer is telling God about our weaknesses, our fears, our challenges, our financial woes, our marital issues, our misbehaving children, our challenges on the job, our struggles with schools, etc. We can talk to God, he knows what we are going through, but we still need to spend time telling Him about it.  Paul declares in Philippians 4:6 “Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God”. Paul also encourages us 1 Thessalonians 5:17  that we should “Pray without ceasing.” I have found that prayer is the single most difficult thing for Christians to do. We struggle, we fight, we get bored of prayer meetings, and that’s because the enemy knows the power that we can get through an effective prayer life.

Jesus himself declares in John 15:7  “If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you” What a tremendous promise from the King of kings, and the Lord of lords. John the beloved declares in 1 John 5:14-15 – “And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us:..” WOW!! I feel excited, just knowing that God hears me when I pray. The Psalmist exploded with confidence when he says in Psalms 55:17 “Evening, and morning, and at noon, will I pray, and cry aloud: and he shall hear my voice” Prayer is not only for morning, but it’s for the entire day, as a matter of fact Paul in writing to Timothy said in 1 Timothy 2:8 “I will therefore that men pray every where, lifting up holy hands, without wrath and doubting”

Friends, I have found that the enemy will always attack our prayer lives, but I have found a way to fight back. I get away in the morning at work and I pray. I slip away at lunch time and I pray, at home I hide in the bathroom and I cry out to my God. Your posture in prayer is also important, don’t stay in the bed and pray; get out of bed, and like a good soldier, walk around, open up your mouth and shout thanksgiving and prayer unto God. It’s strange that a lot of people will pray in their minds, but that’s not good enough, I am sure you don’t talk to your boss or friends through your mind. You always open up your mouth and speak in an audible tone so that he or she can hear you clearly. God demands the same, David declares in Psalms 118:5 “I called upon the LORD in distress: the LORD answered me, [and set me] in a large place. In this season, God wants us to call upon Him”

I usually use this pattern in my prayer life:

Worship first, Confession of Weaknesses in other sins, Prayer for the World that include leaders, unsaved etc., Confession of the Word I literally make declaration of the scripture, and finally I Wait on the Lord.

Remember 2 Chronicles 7:14  “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land”

Pray this prayer of declaration with me:

I close up any breach in my life that would give satan and demons access in the name of Jesus Christ (Eccl.10:8).

I decree that every hedge broken in my life is restored in the name of Jesus Christ (Eccl.10:8).

I stand in the gap and make up the hedge (Ezek.22:30).

I repent and receive forgiveness for any sin that has opened the door for any spirit to enter and operate in my life, family, ministry or Church, in the name of Jesus Christ (Eph.4:27).

I am a rebuilder of the wall and a repairer of the breach (Isa.58:12).

I destroy all spoken curses and negative words that I have spoken over my life in the name of Jesus Christ.

I destroy all spoken curses and negative words spoken over my life by others, including those in authority in the name of Jesus Christ.

I destroy and disannul all ungodly covenants, oaths, and pledges I have made with my lips in the name of Jesus Christ.

Bind up all my breaches, O LORD (Isa.30:26).

I command every breach: BE STOPPED NOW IN THE NAME OF JESUS CHRIST (Neh.4:7).

I command my walls: BE SALVATION AND MY GATES PRAISE (Isa.60:18).

I put on the full armor of God, NOW, in the name of Jesus Christ (Eph 6:11).

I ask for and thank You, Father God, for placing the cloak of humility over me in the name of Jesus Christ.

I decree a hedge of protection around my mind, body, family, finances, possessions and ministry in the name of Jesus Christ.

LORD, turn every curse spoken against my life into a blessing in the name of Jesus Christ (Neh.13:2).

One thought on “Prayer – Our Most Powerful Weapon

Leave a Reply

